top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBoaz Havron

Pet Monsters

Updated: Jul 12, 2021

This is a project that I worked on for 2 years when working for Sidekick.

I started out as a QA for the project, but got hired as an Animation Producer for it down the line.

I was in charge of smoothing out the pipeline, making sure everything is ready in time and running animation reviews with my team.

Sadly the game was scratched by Rovio, but I am still very proud of the animations our studio made.

As a hobby during the project I also had a list of names for each of the hundreds of pets in the game, Rovio preferred to keep them out of the game and let the pets have simple names, but my punny names were well liked in our studio.

This project also let me get some experience in level design; The level designer of the project was burned out at some point and wanted me to throw out ideas for levels. He was happy with the results and actually put them in-game. He later told me that he thinks game design is the career I should pursue.


My roles on the team as the lead QA and Animation Producer:

  • Established the pipeline for 3 batches of characters which included over 400 new pets.

  • Worked with the art team to clear any blockers out of the way.

  • Participated in weekly art reviews, wrote down notes and made sure that they were fixed by our animators.

  • Integrated the animation files into the project.

  • Planned sprints for the animators.

  • Saved hundreds of hours of animation time by asking the correct questions about parenting objects in animation for complex character reskins.

  • Playtested the game whenever possible.

  • Maintained an up to date bug board.

  • Worked with our programmers to pin point bugs after suspicion rose due to testing.

  • Tested new levels and content to make sure it's up to the game's standards before releasing.

  • Participated in daily SCRUM rituals.

  • Designed 5 levels as a favor for the level designer.




25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page